Book Clubs

Best Sellers Book Club

Third Thursdays at 6 pm at Bridgeville Public Library

Thursday, July 20

The Bestsellers Book Discussion is a discussion group for adults that will meet each month to talk about a book that is currently (or was previously) on the New York Times Best Sellers List.

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

An actor playing King Lear dies onstage just before a cataclysmic event changes the future of everyone on Earth. What will be valued and what will be discarded? Will art have a place in a world that has lost so much? What will make life worth living? These are just some of the issues explored in this beautifully written dystopian novel. Recommended for fans of David Mitchell, John Scalzi and Kate Atkinson. — Janet Lockhart for LibraryReads. Novelist

Goodreads

Station Eleven - Cover Image

Fourth Thursday Book Group

Fourth Thursdays at 6 pm. Locations announced each month.

Dressmaker - Cover Art

Thursday, July 27

Join us for lively conversation, good food, and a great book! New members are always welcome.

The Dressmaker by Kate Alcott

A spirited woman survives the sinking of the Titanic only to find herself embroiled in the tumultuous aftermath of that great tragedy. Tess is one of the last people to escape into a lifeboat. When an enterprising reporter turns her employer, Lady Duff Gordon, into an object of scorn, Tess is torn between loyalty and the truth. NoveList

Goodreads

Mystery Book Club

First Wednesdays at 11:30 am at La Bella Bean.

Wednesday, July 5th 

Join us as we sink our teeth into a good mystery while indulging in a great lunch.

Alex By Pierre Lemaitre

Police Commandant Camille Verhoeven must learn all he can about a woman with a troubled past if he is ever going to save her from the twisted killer who is holding her hostage. NoveList

Goodreads

 

Alex - Cover Art

Twentysomething(ish) Book Club

Fourth Wednesdays at 6:30 pm at the Bridgeville Panera.

All American Boys - Cover Art

Wednesday, June 28th 

All American Boys by Jason Reynolds

When sixteen-year-old Rashad is mistakenly accused of stealing, classmate Quinn witnesses his brutal beating at the hands of a police officer who happens to be the older brother of his best friend. Told through Rashad and Quinn’s alternating viewpoints. NoveList

Goodreads