2023 ALA Youth Media Awards

The American Library Association has unveiled its 2023 Youth Media Award winners. We’ve highlighted a few winners of these prestigious literary awards below, but you can discover all of the award winners and honor selections here and here.

John Newbery Medal

Awarded by ALSC to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children

Medal Winner: Freewater, written by Amina Luqman-Dawson, published by JIMMY Patterson/Little, Brown Books for Young Readers.

Michael L. Printz Award

Awarded for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature

Award Winner: All My Rage, written by Sabaa Tahir, published by Razorbill, an imprint of Penguin Young Readers, a division of Penguin Random House.

Randolph Caldecott Medal

Awarded by ALSC to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children

Medal Winner: Hot Dog, illustrated and written by Doug Salati, published by Alfred A. Knopf, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, a division of Penguin Random House.